Impromptu Book Signing

The Social Club & God Seed get a paw print

Impromptu book signing David J Rodger with The Social Club and God Seed

Impromptu book signing :o)

This was a nice moment.  I recently met up with the CTO of a company I worked for back in the late 1990s through to 2005.  Back then I had started as an admin temp and worked my way up to manage a National Virtual Comms service: whilst every spare moment I got I was writing.  At that time I’d just finished my first novel God Seed and was then embarking on my second, Dante’s Fool.  Mr PT observed all this.  Older, wiser and successful, I looked up to him and enjoyed a sense that he had taken a bit of a shine to me.  Skip 8 years of no contact after I left the company and we arranged to meet December last year, and catch-up over a pint or three.  I told him about now having 8 novels done and dusted.  He was pleased and later told me he’d bought one: The Social Club.

So I was both flattered and delighted when we met up again a few months later to find he had enjoyed the book so much he’d gone out and bought himself another copy to give to his friend as a gift, and a copy of my first book God Seed

There was also a beautiful irony to this unexpected moment taking place here, outside the Arnolfini. Something that anybody who has ever written a book – and wondered… is it good enough?! … will it sell?! – should relate to. Roll back 18 years to 1996. I was 26.  I am sitting in my favourite haunt, the Arnolfini Cafe. I had just finished writing God Seed and Glenn Lewis, who worked at the cafe, walked in and tossed me a mock-up of  the God Seed book cover he had designed, printed and wrapped around an old paperback. So that when he threw it at me and I caught it, I found myself holding something real and tangible that represented my dream. To have people holding my book. I can vividly recall sitting there, staring at the book and wishing…. “One day!!!”

Well… check out the picture. Some dreams do come true. :0)

.

Read Spotlight on The Social Club – click

David J Rodger – DATA

 

Leave a comment