Dark Ambient Bliss of Neptune Towers

First released in 1994, it’s only taken me 20 years to discover this slab of electronic magic

Gylve Fenris Nagell - man behind Neptune Towers - Dark Ambient project 1994

Fenris – Man behind Neptune Towers (Dark Ambient Project)

I went over to a friend’s new apartment yesterday, to see the place he is now calling home and promptly fell into a deep, profound and vision-rich sleep.  Reason – recovering from a virus and my use of vodka martini’s to kill the bug, and also, because as I slumped onto his sofa he started playing two albums by Neptune Towers.  No, I’m not saying the music was boring and put me to sleep. The music took me down to a level beyond sleep. Really amazing work.

The man behind it is Norwegian, Gylve Fenris Nagell, one half of the Metal duo Darkthrone. Considered a side-project, he’s obviously given himself complete creative freedom, massive influences of Tangerine Dream with heavy use of sequencers. It sounds like the chant of advocates of the Cthulhu Mythos calling into the Void as the dark planets roll across infinity towards that point where the Stars Are Right!

Getting back I’ve been going through what I listened to. Just incredible. I’ve bought both albums.

I’ll be using these for any scenes of Cosmic Horror in my books; and no doubt this music will become the background soundscape for when I use polyphasic sleep (Da Vinci method).

Here’s a taste via YouTube:

.

Here’s some Amazon links if you want to buy:

.

Check out my Dark Fantasy & Cthulhu Mythos novels – click

 

Leave a Reply

