Personal Blog: Day 7 of 92

¦ Dialling in from the Arnolfini Cafe ¦

So last Friday I left my job of nearly 7 years and I am now on sabbatical. When I return to work at the end of October, I will be joining a new media company based on Bristol. Excited is not the word. (Positive). Career enhancement. Something to look forward to rather than dread. Meanwhile, 92 days to unwind, refocus, continue working on Broken Fury, Sunder Gloom, square my shoulders and shuffle into place for some heavy lifting on the PR and marketing of my novels and RPG game (Yellow Dawn).

Inside the Arnolfini cafe photo by Max McClure all rights reserved

Arnolfini cafe ¦photo Max McClure

Here I am in the Arnolfini cafe, a favourite haunt of mine – on and off – for the last 20 years. Right now it is in my good books because the staff are so damned fine, friendly and fun (thanks Patch!).

It’s been an interesting few days.

  • Japanese fanzine commissions me to write a Cthulhu Mythos piece: I was approached by the editor of a Japanese fanzine to create a piece of original fiction set within H.P.Lovecraft’s Cthulhu Mythos. He wanted it to contain at least one established Lovecraftian reference but was also keen to see me create some new Mythos memes and a new Great Old One. I subsequently completed and submitted; the editor got back to me with big thumbs-up. Due for release Spring 2015.

.

The sabbatical is an opportunity to do a lot of travelling but I am tempering the wanderlust with the practical and very real need to actually have a rest. It’s been a mental few years (since 2007). Nonstop.  Getting up at 4 A.M. for months at a time to wrap writing around a full time job.  So I reckon I am going to spend the next two weeks just sleeping.  Or as close to sleeping as I can manage whilst my brain scuttles around thinking of all the things I want to get on with.  Includes a massive backlog of photos and blog posts to write-up.  Mind, if ever there was a time to make the effort to visit the movie location for Salem’s Lot (1979) – Ferndale California, and the Château de Puivert used at the end of the Roman Polanski’s occult book detective movie The Ninth Gate (1999) – France, then now is that time. So watch this space. Maybe I’ll get there. Maybe I won’t.

Today’s been laced with polyphasic sleep – my old Da Vinci method where every 45 minutes of working on the computer ends with a 15 minute power nap.  4 hours of work gives me 1 hour of sleep. And as usual I have been playing H.P.Lovecraft audio books during these down periods. Today has been the incredible Dunwich Horror – a really excellent audio production with theatrical scenes thrown in between standard narration. Love that story. Here’s a bit of more information about Yog-Sothoth and the Dunwich Horror.

Soundtrack to this phase is the sublimely talented electro rock pop duo: Southway. Check them out. Try their music and enjoy.

.

See more posts like this – click

David J Rodger – DATA

.

One thought on “Personal Blog: Day 7 of 92

Leave a Reply

