Review of Yellow Dawn – The Age of Hastur by Role Play Craft

Role Play Craft post a review of my RPG Yellow Dawn – The Age of Hastur

I’m very pleased by this.  Nice to have your hard work get a good mention, warts and all. I approached this chap after he left comments on my article about the meaning of the Polanski movie The Ninth Gate.  It led to some dialogue and I asked if he’d be willing to give YD an honest appraisal.  You can read the full review by Role Play Craft here.

Photo of an Infected from Yellow Dawn The Age of Hastur

One of the Infected

What I really like is he has highlighted the value YD can bring to other game systems, commercial as well as indie products. That’s me saying I hope you’ll consider taking a bite.  Learn more about Yellow Dawn – The Age of Hastur here.

Here’s a taster from his introduction…

When I received the book I was surprised by two things: One, how highly detailed and complete the game system and setting were; two: this is the work of one dude. The credits mention playtesters, but the entirety of the system and writing is the work of David Rodger himself.

And that is insane. This book is highly detailed, featuring everything you need system wise, setting wise, with a healthy number of appendices and tables. The editing seems great. I just can’t wrap my head around the amount of work this game must have had put into it. Most definitely it’s a labor of love.

I was a little nervous when the game was on it’s way that it wouldn’t be good, to be honest. I’m a supporter of Indie game development (as it is something I want to get into), but I understand that for every gem there are five pieces of coal, so to speak. Luckily, I soon realized this was one of the gems. Not simply because it’s a good system, but because of the amount of value that you can get out of it even for other games.

.

There are three novels set within the YD universe:

.

ANOTHER GREAT REVIEW:

The Unspeakable Oath includes a review of my RPG: Yellow Dawn – The Age of Hastur – click to read

David J Rodger – DATA

.

Leave a Reply

