5 Star Review of The Social Club – A Post-Apocalyptic Detective Thriller

Customer Review from Amazon (US)

Major kudos to Author David J. Rodger as he expands his Yellow Dawn universe in this latest novel. For the uninitiated, Yellow Dawn was a two-stage pandemic plague that killed the majority of the world’s population. As bad as that is, the bigger problem is that some of the people it killed didn’t exactly stay dead…and others, who weren’t killed outright by the plague are changing into something that isn’t exactly human

Without spoiling anything, the remainder of the human race have relocated into a handful of fortified cities. This story is set in London, which is ruled with an iron fist by a secretive, ruthless, cult-like business group. The main character is essentially a detective in the group’s private police force. He begins an investigation into a suspicious death that puts him at odds with the corporate rulers of London.

For fans of David Rodger & Yellow Dawn, the book provides some nice day-to-day detail of life in a living city, with some hints about life out in the wildernesses that surround them–similar to the portions of Dog Eat Dog set outside New York and New Tokyo. And of course it’s a crackling good mystery.

For newcomers, you can dive right into any of Rodger’s YD books without worrying that your reading them out of sequence. There are occasional references to other books’ characters,but nothing that affects your understanding of the plot.

# # #

Source: http://www.amazon.com/The-Social-Club-David-Rodger-ebook/product-reviews/B00GR0SRX4/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1

.

About the Book

The Social Club - A Yellow Dawn Novel by British Science Fiction Dark Fantasy Author David J Rodger - a thriller set in post-apocalyptic London

Available in paperback or Kindle format

The Social Club

By David J Rodger

.

An Orwellian detective story in a damaged universe

.

AVAILABLE IN PAPERBACK AND KINDLE

.

“Atmospheric and Creepy” – The Guardian on The Black Lake

.

“…a modern noir style mixed in with a heavy dose of brutal action adventure!” – Reflexiones Finales on Dog Eat Dog

.

David J Rodger’s vision of a post-apocalyptic world continues to expand with The Social Club – following the success of the action-packed Dog Eat Dog and eerily haunting tale of The Black Lake. All three books are separate and unrelated stories that occupy the shared universe of Yellow Dawn.

In the wake of a cataclysmic event ten years ago (Yellow Dawn), London survives like other isolated pockets of civilisation, but only just. Senior Verifier Jadon Purgo is a member of the Group, responsible for maintaining law and order and the status-quo of power and control for those who have grabbed the reigns of authority.

There is a dark and terrible secret at the heart of the Group’s history in London. One that is to be protected at all costs. When the naked body of a man washes up on the banks of the Thames, the brutal and shocking truth threatens to emerge. Purgo plays a dangerous game of cat and mouse with those determined to stop him, unaware of the ultimate price he will be forced to pay if he succeeds.

David J. Rodger is a British author of science fiction dark fantasy with eight novels under his belt. He is also the creator of Yellow Dawn – The Age of Hastur, an RPG that blends Cthulhu Mythos and Cyberpunk themes into a post-apocalyptic setting. His books are often described as intense, character driven, near-future thrillers. Compared to Ian Rankin / Colin Dexter and James Ellroy with a dose of Stephen King darkness, Rodger’s work crosses many boundaries to deliver a new and exciting fusion of ideas and genres. You never quite know what waits around the next corner. All his books are stand-alone but support each other as part of a consistent shared universe allowing you to build a deeper knowledge with every story.

This is a slow-burn thriller with an explosive ending.

BUY THE SOCIAL CLUB TODAY

.

Available to buy in paperback from LULU Global

Available to buy in paperback from Amazon UK ¦ USA ¦ DE ¦ FR

Available to buy on Kindle UK ¦ USA ¦ DE ¦ FR

.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s