Letters: Creatives Getting Dirty in London to Grab The Money

Words from a Creative in London

An interesting slice-of-life message in response to my thoughts about the novel I’ve got coming out in November (The Social Club). Thought I’d share. Observations on the world of small digital agencies. Chase the money and work hard –  or waft the putrid winds of self-importance.

.

From: [xxxxx]
Subject: Re: TSC
Date: Thu, 19 Sep 2013 11:48:49 +0100
To: clovenfeet@xxxxxxx

Dear sir

London’s great. I can be anonymous and watch life play-out in front of me with that slanted grin we both love ;-)
.
I was in a Speakeasy two nights ago, near Liverpool Street. It was busy, but no-one knows it’s there. Myself and the other half of _______. We drank warm, neat Kentucky bourbon (Four Roses – you should try it, it’s a wonderfully slow drink) and discussed our plans for an office space next year.
.
We want it to be a like Jake Gittes’ office from the movie Chinatown. Wood furniture, shutters, record player, drinks cabinet; the whole nine. We’d have a little reception room with a hat stand and our names would be on the door. We’d wear suits everyday. None of this hipster crap. Old school. Professional, but with an edge.
.
Anyway, it’s a little way off, but it’s exciting to dream about :)
.
I haven’t had a chance to compile ____ concepts yet, it’s stuck in a holding pattern in my brain. Between consulting, pitching and having a wife it’s become difficult to slot in the extra curriculum stuff. I burn the candle hard everyday and need sleep just to make it round the corner for the next. I am getting there…
.
It’s great though. I’m empowered to write my own destiny and be a creative ‘P.I’ (hence the Chinatown comparison). ______ likes to get hands dirty and I see so many similar folk not prepared to do so. It perplexes me. I think that’s why we are in a purple patch right now. We’ll do those jobs, we’ll take the all night creative stake-outs and we’ll sure as hell give you a service worth paying for.
.
I’ve gotta tell you, and I’ve said it before, you remain a big inspiration about how to ‘approach’ things.
.
I’ll be sure to talk you up to all my literary chums. You should be selling millions of copies in my opinion.
.
Much love and more to follow,
___________
.
Creatives Get Dirty in London - Jack Nicholson as J.J. Jake Gittes, in Chinatown (1974)

Jack Nicholson as J.J. Jake Gittes, in Chinatown (1974)

.
See more posts like this – click

David J Rodger – DATA

.

Leave a Reply

