Boléro, Notoriety on a Bus, Start of a No Writing Month

¦ dialing in from the Sky Bunker ¦

So a couple folks just got a text from me to say quick, BBC FOUR, now, amazing performance of Ravel’s Boléro. And it was. A smile-expanding blend of BBC Philharmonic Orchestra and the insanely talented and seriously sexy Spanish dancers of the Antonio Marquez Company. Just incredible. See a sample of it here:

.
And for later, view the whole thing on BBC iPlayer: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b037p8wk

So I got on the bus this morning and had a pretty amazing experience. Skip back to 1989 and I’ve just started to take writing seriously  and I’m working on my first novel.

David J Rodger in 1989 - Newcastle Upon Tyne - England

David J Rodger in 1989 – Newcastle Upon Tyne – England

Young and pretty idealistic.  Anyhooo, I used to have this daydream back then, of being on a train and seeing somebody reading one of my books. So I get on the Park & Ride bus this morning (yeah, not exactly the Orient Express but hey this is a start) and there’s a woman reading Dante’s Fool. Dang!  How awesome is that?!

It’s August and I’m now into a no writing month, and it’s incredible how euphoric I feel. I love writing. It really is a passion of mine, but sometimes it does just TAKE OVER my entire life. Doing this one month on one month off thing really lets me blur fingers on keys for 30 days without feeling guilty. And then, I get 30 days to come home and switch off. Watch shit TV. Consider the bliss of a lie-in tomorrow or the notion of actually not having to do anything if I don’t want to.  Playstation. Tinkering with photos.  Sitting in the back-garden with a book.

Talking of tinkering with photos, I’ve put together a couple of small collections of my favourite images. You can grab a peek of them here.

https://davidjrodger.wordpress.com/about/photography-by-david-j-rodger/

One thought on “Boléro, Notoriety on a Bus, Start of a No Writing Month

Leave a Reply

