Reading list: just finished The Night Circus, about to start The Trellborg Monstrosities by John Houlihan

Reading List

One of the benefits of my new writing regime (one month off after every month of writing, in order to re-establish balance – and sanity – in my life) is the amount of books I am now ploughing through.  Rather than taking months per books, sliced into 15 minute fragments of time whenever I have a moment on the Park & Ride bus, I’m now chomping through them at a respectable (for me, at least) one every week or 2 weeks.

I just finished the magical and utterly enchanting The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.  Not an easy book to get into, I actually ditched it after the first couple of chapters, sinking back into all-boy heroics of Clive Cussler (my guilty pleasure after being stuck in Newark airport last December). But something about the book held onto my mind, so I went back to it a few weeks later and then couldn’t put it down. Fantastic. Read whilst listening to Holy Fire album by the Foals; now entwined with a sense of performing magic in the realworld.

A compatriot of mine, John Houlihan, has completed a novella for the Achtung! Cthulhu genre. I’d meant to blog about Achtung! ages ago as it’s done really well on Kickstarter and has generated exceptional interest in the gaming community. So I’m extra pleased to discover John is a part of this. The novella is called The Trellborg Monstrosities and is currently going through editorial. I’ve got a late version preview.  Could well become a scenario for Achtung! at a later date.

This will be the first I’ve read of this kind. But I’m getting the vibe it might be Dieselpunk crossed with Cthulhu. I’m certainly hoping it is. Will let you know.

dieselpunk motorcycle with sidecar

Speeding into battle with the Mythos.  Dieselpunk is steampunk with combustion.

Image Source: T-Motor-Sidecar

.
See more posts like this – click

David J Rodger – DATA

.

Leave a Reply

